Tuesday, 12 March 2013

Woman's Hour

Woman's Hour is a radio magazine programme broadcast on BBC Radio 4 in the United Kingdom. Created by Norman Collins and originally presented by Alan Ivimey the programme was first broadcast on 7 October 1946 on the BBC's Light Programme. It was transferred to its current home in 1973. Over the years it has been presented by Joan Griffiths, Olive Shapley, Jean Metcalfe, Marjorie Anderson, Judith Chalmers, Sue MacGregor, Jenni Murray, and Martha Kearney.

Sheila McClennon regularly filled in for Murray and Kearney before joining the presenting team of You and Yours. More recently, Carolyn Quinn, Jane Little and Ritula Shah have hosted occasional programmes, and guest presenters have included Oona King and Amanda Platell. Jane Garvey became part of the presenting team on Monday 8 October 2007. On 1 January 2005, the show became Man's Hour for one day only, on which it was presented by Channel 4 News anchor Jon Snow. On 18 July 2010, after 64 years of Woman's Hour, the BBC began broadcasting a full series called Men's Hour on BBC Radio 5 presented by Tim Samuels.